Paper Review

Screen Shot 2013-09-09 at 22.04.53

PAPER IS WHERE IDEAS BEGIN

bubble_nath

So apparently I love anything to do with art and the Paper app by 53 is no exception. Paper by 53 is an iPad app that allows you to create drawings, paintings and even keep a diary of ideas if you so wish. When Adam first passed me his iPad with a blank canvas on it, that was the moment I fell in love. Being able to use a screen to do the sort of things I’d normally scribble down on a sheet of A4 is amazing.

photo 3

I’d personally enjoy the app much more if they provided a few more basic brushes from the start however I’d be massively happy to buy them if i owned an iPad myself, in fact it’s apps like this that really make me want to purchase an iPad in general. Being able to store your work in albums is also a great feature the app provides as you can build your own portfolio of images you’ve drawn up. Just recently we went back to the app in order to write this review I saw a few albums we’d previously worked on and it brought a smile to my face.

Thanks 53 you’ve created an amazing app thats right up my street, I’ll be giving you a solid 5 Taps!

5

break

bubble_adam

I was introduced to Paper by 53 a few years ago when i was scanning the iPad App Store for productivity apps. I literally downloaded every app that was in the top 100 under the free category. I tried every single one, played with the UI‘s, tried the free stuff until eventually they all asked me to pay. I didn’t want to pay. No way. Jose.

So, after i filtered through all of them i was left with one, an app that still holds a few megabytes on my iPad. It has remained strong even whilst death was being thrown about around it, it didn’t even shed a tear. Unfortunately, Paper did take a back seat for a few months whilst i had my mind focused on other activities and a handsome new app (but to protect it’s feelings i won’t mention the name – maybe in a future update:)) to jot down my ideas and scribbles. Until today, i hadn’t even thought about Paper, but going back and seeing what was running through my mind at the time was refreshing and provided a burst of nostalgia.

photo 4

Do you have a cupboard in your house? The kind of cupboard that you shove those tins of biscuits your distant family send you at Christmas. They’re not essential but having them there puts your mind at rest knowing you can survive an apocalypse with a rationing of biscuits. Well that’s what Paper by 53 is. A tin, of paper. You can’t eat it though.

Thank you for saving a few trees and being my metaphorical tin of biscuits. Have 4 taps from me.

4

bubble_appstore

Posted on September 9, 2013, in Reviews, Tools and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

